More Harpa

Formal opening ceremony tonight, hopefully possible to watch here, starts 17:50 GMT. (in a bit less than 2 hours). Can’t wait. My huge choir will sing the 4th movement of Beethoven’s 9th Symphony at the end of the concert around 20:00 GMT or so if anyone’s interested. Will post a link if this will be available on the net afterwards but I’m not sure it will be.

First part of the concert, symphony orchestra, youth choir, opera singers, children’s choir, an excellent pianist, second part the cream of Icelandic popular music, then the third part, a brand new piece for the opening and then the Beethoven. Quite a mixture of music. I’ll be in the audience for the first two parts and then run backstage to take part in the symphony movement. Don’t want to miss a thing…

A newsclip on a German radio station, you can see me + sister and daughter on 4:15 if you like – I’m second row furthest to the left and daughter comes to view beside me when the camera zooms out. Imagine the joy!

3 Responses to “More Harpa”


  1. 1 Jon May 18, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    Very nice! Will Iceland now be able to host Eurovision when you win? It could happen, you know! I will check it out in person in about a year and I look forward to that. Thanks for coming back to this blog, also. We missed you.

  2. 2 hildigunnur May 18, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    Well, this is a bit on the smallish side for Eurovision (and what do you mean “when” we win? ;) ) Possible though.

    I’ve been sort of a lazy blogger recently, not only here but also on my Icelandic blog which is rather more active. Maybe I’ll kick in and do some more writing.

    Harpa’s marvellous, though! Do be in touch when you come up here!

  3. 3 Torsten May 28, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    Congratulations for having made it finally – the harpa, I mean. I’m quite impressed.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

