stolen bike

Our youngest son’s bike’s been stolen. Irritating as hell. Meant to report it today, but the office had closed, by the time we went there. The bike wasn’t an expensive or even a good one, I’m hoping somebody has just biked somewhere and then left the bike laying around.

Not sure, though, apparently there are criminals around here that fill big containers with stolen goods and ship them out of the country. Middle girl’s bike was taken, last year. Grrr!

2 Responses to “stolen bike”


  1. 1 Turkish Prawn June 18, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Many, many years ago when I was about 11, my bike got stolen. It was my first 10 speed and I was heartbroken. I had lobbied hard for that bike and paid for part of it. I went a whole summer just walking (I couldn’t bring my self to ride my old bike).

    Deep during the next winter, we got a phone call. A man who was out ice fishing had spotted a tire sticking out of the ice. This wonderful man actually chipped the entire bike out and tracked it back to me via an ID tag stuck to the frame. When we picked it up, there were still chunks of ice clinging to it.

    I happily rode it for at least another three years.

    I hope that you can track down your son’s. Being stolen from is such a yuck-o feeling.

    Turkish Prawn

  2. 2 hildigunnur June 18, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Yes it is, isn’t it? Hope this works out as well as your story.


Leave a Reply

